Testing New Lens: Rokinon 14mm f/2.8

Last week my new lens arrived from B&H Photo: a Rokinon 14mm f/2.8  super wide-angle. My primary use for this lens will be for astro-landscape photography, star-trails, and traditional landscapes here in the Pacific Northwest region of the United States. I’ve been eying this lens for a number of years since my astrophotography mentor, Wilson, started using this sweet lens.

But, our weather here in the Northwest hasn’t been too cooperative, with below zero chill factors and overcast skies filled with snow, so I haven’t ventured into the mountains our out onto the Snake River Plain. Instead, I

stayed indoors and the other day ventured into my colleague’s visual communication experimental letterpress lab. I’ve always been fascinated with metal and wood type and she has some really neat large displays of type in her lab. Here’s a diptych shot under available light with my Nikon D800 with the Rokinon 14mm super wide-angle lens. Enjoy!

Letterpress type in ISU's Visual Communication Experimental Labe. © 2013 Terry Ownby.

Letterpress type in ISU‘s Visual Communication Experimental Lab. © 2013 Terry Ownby.

Leave a Reply

