Flint Hills Roadtrip

A couple of weeks ago during our Spring Break, myself and my two friends (Wilson and Tom, also photo professors at UCM) ventured back to the Flint Hills but this time we also took along with us 9 photography students. The best part for me was the very first day hiking the backcountry trails at the Tall Grass National Prairie Preserve, near Strong City, Kansas. I think this is one of my favorite places in the U.S. to visit. Being out on the prairie where you can see for miles and hear nothing but wind, birds, swaying grass and your own heartbeat is fabulous! I’m looking forward to going back in early summer when the grass is green and a bit taller. Until then, I have my photos to give me solace. The image below is of Spring Hill Ranch, taken on my return from the backcountry.

Spring Hill Ranch, Tall Grass National Prairie Preserve

© 2009 Terry Ownby

6 comments

  1. Thanks for sharing the photo. I would love to see more. Hearing that someone loves the prairie encourages me. The Flint Hills have long inspired photographers, painters, and other artists to create their best works.

  2. I’m always glad to see another photographer interested in and promoting photography in the Flint Hills. Every day that I work on my projects, I become more aware of deeply hidden beauty that is there and the photographic possibilities that the region holds.

  3. I found the hills very hard to photograph. Wish they’d had a class like yours when I was in college.

Leave a comment